European Research Council

The European Research Council (ERC) is the funding body of the European Union that supports frontier research with a potential to bring about new and unpredictable scientific and technological discoveries. Grants awarded by the ERC are investigator-driven. That is, they support research proposed by individual scientists, in any field of research, in any country in Europe. The sole criterion for their award is scientific excellence. Grants are generous and flexible, with the purpose to raise the status and visibility of European research, and to strengthen the European research system as a whole. The ERC awards starting grants to up-and-coming researchers who are establishing an internationally visible research activity. In 2014, the ERC has awarded such a grant to support my group's research on Quantum Cavity Electro- and Opto-Mechanics. Excellent news!

Sapere Aude

The Danish Council for Independent Research (DFF) supports the best research projects and researchers in Denmark with funds deployed by the Ministry of Higher Education and Science. As one funding mechanism, the DFF identifies particularly promising researchers, and funds their activities through the Sapere Aude program. Similar to the ERC, research leaders ("Forskingsleder") from all disciplines are selected and given the opportunity to further develop their research program over a 4-year period. As of 2014, one of 20 grants awarded by the DFF will support my group's research on Quantum Electrooptomechanics. Great news!

Further funding


This research is carried out in collaboration with groups both at NBI and other institutions, and embedded in an international network of researchers in this field. These include, in particular, the groups of Profs. Tobias Kippenberg (EPFL), Eugene Polzik (NBI), Silvan Schmid (TU Vienna), Anders Sørensen (NBI), Jacob Taylor (JQI/NIST) and Christian Degen (ETHZ) .